People

Current Members of the Akey Lab

Joshua Akey

Professor

jakey@princeton.edu

Josh is the intrepid leader of the wily gang of genome scientists.

Dayna Akey

Research Scientist

dakey@princeton.edu

When she is not chasing after our two boys, Dayna is chasing down several projects in canine genomics. She has a long-standing interest in mapping genes contributing to inherited canine diseases and continuing to pursue similar projects in the Akey lab.

Liming Li

Associate Research Scholar

limingli@princeton.edu

Liming is interested in analyzing the patterns of archaic introgression in human populations.

Claire McWhite

Lewis-Sigler Scholar

cmcwhite@princeton.edu

Claire uses protein language modeling to understand the evolution of protein function.

Cara Weisman

Lewis-Sigler Scholar

cweisman@princeton.edu

Cara's PhD work focused on lineage-specific genes: where they come from, what they do, and how they relate to our understanding of novel traits. She's now exploring evolutionary novelty and evolutionary change more broadly, in a variety of systems: what changes, how fast, and how?

Debashree Tagore

Postdoctoral Research Associate

dt8441@princeton.edu

Debashree is interested in understanding patterns of archaic introgression and natural selection in modern humans and their phenotypic consequences.

Kaiqian Zhang

Graduate Student

kaiqianz@princeton.edu

Kaiqian is interested in developing statistical methods for improving transferability of polygenic risk scores.

Huixin (Winnie) Xu

Graduate Student

huixinx@princeton.edu

Winnie is developing methods to study patterns of somatic mutations in humans.

Rob Bierman

Research Software Engineer

rbierman@princeton.edu

Rob is interested in providing computational support to the Akey lab on multiple genomics projects.

Cooper Koers

Undergraduate Research Student

ck5658@princeton.edu

Cooper is interested in researching variety in human evolution and their modern-day implications regarding disease resistance and suscesptibility.

Former Members of the Akey Lab